Book Reviews · Poetry Collections

The Octopus Curse [Spoiler-free Review]

48105509

Duration: 10/10/19 – 19/10/19

Rating: 4/5

Author: Salma Farook 

Publisher: SeaShell Publications


IMPORTANT INFO:

“The Octopus Curse” by Salma Farook will be available on 1 November 2019 on Amazon in ebook as well as hardcover.

The ebook will be FREE from 1 November to 5 November 2019 on Amazon and you can click the link here to go download it !!

If you wanna check out “The Octopus Curse” book video, you can click the link here.

Lastly, follow Salma on her Instagram to find out more about her and her other poems.


Thank you to Salma, who sent me a free copy of this book in exchange for a honest review. :))

As a fan of Rupi Kaur, I was really drawn to her poetry collection as she described her style to be similar to Kaur and I definitely agree and so it is safe to say that I did enjoyed her poems.

Her poetry deals with many themes like love, female empowerment, wanderlust and even immigration which are I think is incredible and extremely important. Many of her poems, I feel, contain really powerful messages and deep meanings and so if you are someone who are interested in poetry that discusses such themes, I think you should give this collection a chance.

One of my favourite points about this collection is the concept she used to create the different sections and organise the poems. As you can tell from the title, she draws parallel to the anatomy and characteristic of an octopus when creating the different which I think is absolutely brilliant and creative. So while you are enjoying her poems, you can learn some interesting facts about octopuses too ;)) This way of organising her poems really makes a huge impact as it allows you to understand the inspiration behind each poem and the message each poem is trying to bring across.

The reason why I did not give it 5 stars was because I found it a little hard to connect to some of the poems, specifically the ones in the first half of the book. But I feel that this is not attributed by flawed writing but by my lack of experience and interest in the theme ( which is “Love” I believe ). I did however, really connected to and enjoyed the poems in the second half of the book where the they are more about empowerment and wanderlust, which are my preference.

Overall, I think it is an incredible collection of poetry by an incredible women and I think you should definitely check it out. Definitely worth your time so please show your support for her.


Synopsis:

Science would have us believe that we are nothing but cell upon cell. I disagree. We are made up of stories. The stories we hear from our mothers, the ones we tell our daughters. The tales we share with sisters and friends. The ones we never say out loud, but are heavy on our minds and run like a fever in our blood.

There are a multitude of great divides between us; race, religion, cultures, the way we dress, the languages we speak, but the stories we tell bridge us together in the universal tongue of smiles, tears, pain and laughter. They remind us that, as women, we’re all chasing similar fairy-tales.

This book is a call to celebrate the bridges, delight in our stories and to focus on the joy in our lives right now, rather than racing behind the happily-ever-after. That will come in it’s own time.

Leave a comment